HISTORY PMSS Summary 1982-1983

Pine Mountain Settlement School
Series 04: HISTORIES
1937-2000 HISTORY PMSS Summaries

HISTORY PMSS Summary 1982-1983

Tags: History PMSS summary 1982-1983, staff members, interns, events, Trustees, Executive Sessions, appointments, honors, awards

TRANSCRIPTION: HISTORY PMSS Summary 1982-1983 [image 114]

History of the Pine Mountain Settlement School

Staff Members:

Rose Begley, Laurel House
Boyd Boggs, Maintenance
Matthew Boggs, Night Watchman
Ruth Boggs, Bookkeeper, Laurel House
Gerry Brown, W. W. & Laurel House
Hoyd Brown, W. W.
Asbel Browning, Maintenance
Lorraine Browning, Laurel House
Karoun Cartozian, E. E.
William Callahan, Maintenance
Lacy Conley, Maintenance
Fern Cornett, Laurel House
Ann Deutch, E. E., Substitute Coordinator
Afton Garrison, E. E., Half-time
Alice Harris, Laurel House
Larry Harris, Maintenance
Terry Harris, Maintenance
Darlene Henderson, Office Secretary
Thomas Hougham, E. E. Coordinator (Spring)
Judy Lewis, Secretary
Omer Lewis, Maintenance Supervisor & Farm Manager
Ruth Lewis, Laurel House
Sue Lewis, Laurel House
Matthew Miller, E. E.
Trudy Morgan, R. N., FNS Clinic Nurse
Deanna Parsley, Office
Philip Pitchford, E. E. Coordinator (until Spring)
Mary Rogers, Librarian, E. E
Eugene Smith, Maintenance
Marlyn Smith, Maintenance
Sharon Boggs Smith, Office Secretary
Maxine Turner, Laurel House
Mary Waid, E. E.
Ella Wilder, Office Receptionist
Mildred Wilder, Laurel House
Evelyn Wiseman, West Wind
Melanie Zuercher, Life Guard
Burton Rogers, Director Emeritus, Correspondence with donors
Alvin Boggs, Director

TRANSCRIPTION: HISTORY PMSS Summary 1982-1983 [image 115]

Page 2, 1982-83


Susan Farridy, Clella Sergent Cook, Kelly Sander, Rebecca Marty, Margaret Shea, Denise Eberly

Traditional Events:

Homecoming, Fair Day, Nativity Play

Other Events:

In Executive Session April 30, 1983, the Trustees appointed James Urquhart as Director, Alvin Boggs as Associate Director for Development, and Carol Urquhart as Community Worker, effective when the Urquharts can move to Pine Mountain (around July 15, 1983).

There was a January term, for a small group.

Mary Rogers received 2 honors, “Naturalist of the Year, 1982,” by Kentucky Society for Natural History, and “Naumburg Award, 1982,” a national recognition from Natural Science for Youth Foundation.

GALLERY: HISTORY PMSS Summary 1982-1983

Return to GUIDE TO HISTORY PMSS Summaries 1937-2000